Shiro’s Story

As I was about to leave his foster home, he put his little paw on my hand, and that just made me fall even harder in love with him. It was decided – he was the one. ❤

So as we wait at the vet’s for his last and final vaccination (for a while atleast), I’m writing this, thinking about how happy he makes me 🙂

Adoption is not an easy process, human or otherwise. And I am actually glad that adopting him was not easy because at every road block my decision of adopting him got even more definitive.

While most 20somethings my age are getting engaged/married, here I am jumping the gun and adopting a sweet little baby (albeit of a different species).

I can’t even begin to express the joy he gives me, filling my heart with warm fuzzies! When I describe him to my friends, they’re shocked at how much energy he’s got – “usually cats just want to eat and sleep!”, which he does do his fair share of, but he is far from lazy. So, before we got him, I would be exhausted by the time I got home from work. I would just eat , sleep and on good days catch up on some t.v. shows but now everything has changed! No matter how exhausted I am, his energy somehow seems to give me energy. I actually want to leave work (and I love my job!) just so I can come home and play with him. 

It’s a nice feeling to have a fourlegged friend waiting for your return – purring to his heart’s content at your arrival. The only other time he purrs that much is when he knows it’s his meal time! 😀

 

Things I know now:

 

Yes, you’re going to get ridiculously maternal and everything he does (including scratching your mom’s favourite centre table, that has mother-of-pearl engravings) you’re going to find extremely adorable. You’re going to spend hours on Amazon and various online petshops trying to find the best deal on kitten food/litter/toys. He’ll be spoilt rotten with only the highest quality of food (better than the junk you eat), and lots of love (you might even find yourself ignoring your loved ones because he is now your number 1). You’re weekly trips to the mall to get a new clothes (because is having enough kurtis even a thing ?!) will replaced cuddling with your new kitten. 

 

I would not change any of this for the world and feel lucky that my kitten picked me as his furrever human 💖

~P xo
P.S.: If you are thinking of getting a kitten or cat or puppy or dog – adopt don’t shop. So many loving animals are waiting to be homed and they’ll love you just the same! If you’re in Mumbai – check out World For All 

2 comments

  1. teaismyjam · August 20, 2016

    This is lovely and so adorable.
    I am just loving the way you write your posts! Amazing job.
    I’d love if you could check out my posts as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

