Happiness Project

How is it August already ?!?!

Deadlines that seemed ages away, are just around the corner. The big 2-5 is only 6 months away and I can feel my quarter-life-crisis slowly creeping up on me.
As of late, I’ve been slacking in the whole positive vibes = positive life philosophy and my mind is cluttered with random negative thoughts that have no business being there. Instead of stressing about life and its known unknowns, I’ve decided to take one day at a time and try to make them my happiest via The Happiness Project!

The Happiness Project is a book by Gretchen Rubin, in which she makes no crazy claims about leaving your job and going backpacking across the country to find inner peace and joy (however amazing that may sound, we are living in an extremely capitalist society and we all need the moolah). Instead she talks about the small and simple yet concrete things you can do in your busy life that will actually make you happier.

Happiness is an extremely subjective concept and hence the happiness project is entirely what you make of it. No two projects will be the same and that’s the best part because it’ll be true to you!

Some questions to ask yourself before you begin your pursuit of happiness:

  • What makes you feel good? What gives you joy, energy, fun?
  • What makes you feel bad? What brings you anger, guilt, boredom, dread?
  • What makes you feel right? What values do you want your life to reflect?
  • How can you build an atmosphere of growth – where you learn, explore, build, teach, help?

Some of my resolutions this month will include:

  • Get at least 7 hours of sleep every night
  • Sing in the morning (This actually works ! You start your day with a spring in your step)
  • Make my bed / Keep my room tidy (According to Rubin Outer order gives inner calm)
  • Make more of an effort to keep in touch with family and friends who are not in Mumbai
  • Move around for at least 15 minutes everyday
  • Play with Shiro in the morning and after work
  • Spend quality time with my parents 
  • Be grateful (I have a mantra that I say every night before bed but lately, as soon as my head hits my pillow, I’m out. So instead I’m going to say this during my commute!) 

You can keep track of these in whatever creative way you want (I’m keeping it old school and making a resolution chart in my journal). Some of them are obvious and some not so much (ref: Making my bed. I don’t see the point but I’m going to try it out anyways. At least my mom will be happy 😉 ) Your list of can be extensive or just have 2 resolutions -as long as you’re able to account for them.

tumblr_nyml4jDTVd1qa381co1_500

What do I want from life anyways ? A: I want to be happy. Was I happy ? Can I be happier ?

The happiness is project isn’t only limited to people who are sad/unhappy/feeling low/etc. but for anyone who wants to get happier! I hope this gives you some ideas, and most importantly inspiration to begin your own project! Slip ups are normal, but don’t stop keeping track of them (this way you know which parts of your life need some extra lovin’). Be a little compassionate towards yourself, and know that at least you’re trying your best!

I’m actually excited to revisit this post in a month to see how it goes 🙂

~ P xo

P.S. Shout out to Shreya for inspiring me to start my happiness project 🙂 She has an awesome blog and I urge you to to find out more about the happiness project on there !

P.P.S. If you’re lazy like me or have no time to read the book (also me) – you can YouTube Gretchen Rubin and find lots of her videos online!

2 comments

  1. Hugh Hall · August 16

    Sounds like you are on the right track! Keep the momentum moving forward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

