25 Rules for 2017

New year, same me! Heck, I think in a very long time, I have reconnected with my true self, flaws and all. It took me a very long time to figure myself out (and I still am) but I think around 19 is when I finally starting loving who I was or was turning into. And then, at around 21, it came crashing right down. It was a combination of a lot of things, but I’ll save that for another post 🙂
The point is, after a long time, I feel genuinely happy – and it feels great! Yes, work gets tiring beyond belief, the Mumbai traffic is the absolute worst, almost all of my friends are thousands of kilometers away, and the shitty internet makes it feel like skyping with them is another job in itself. However, I know they’re always there, it’s just a matter of a phone call and we are exactly where we left off.

With 2016 in the past, probably the craziest one yet, here are 25 rules (some clichés) I’ve learnt along the way:

  1. Be yourself. The sarcastic mess that you are. Be that.
  2.  Stop making excuses for people.
  3. It’s okay to ask for help when needed.
  4. Leave work early, if possible, so you can play with Shiro. (Also cuddle him at every possible occasion – the scratches will fade eventually 😌)
  5. Follow your intuition. If something doesn’t feel right, it usually isn’t.
  6. Surround yourself with people who can make you laugh.
  7. Be less cynical. The world and the people in it aren’t that bad. (Or only keep the good ones around)
  8. Take time to refresh. “Me” time is always a good idea.
  9. If you like something, say it. If you don’t like something, say it.
  10. Live more out of intention, rather than habit.
  11. Be more patient with your parents.
  12. Never say no to a play. (Also, watch more t.v. shows and movies)
  13. Cooking is a good destresser. (You can do the dishes later)
  14. Stop using the straightener. Love your curls.
  15. Go to the gym (because is it even a new year’s resolutions list, if this isn’t mentioned?!)
  16. Do things that are out of your comfort zone. Don’t live in fear of judgement. Ever.
  17. Notice who drains your energy. (And stay far far away from those people.)
  18. Pedicures are always a good idea. So are manicures. Which leads me to…
  19. Stop biting your nails!
  20. Veggies are good for you (and the environment) but never say no to fried chicken (or cake).
  21. Wear lipstick more often.
  22. Stop being so hard on yourself. Be patient and kind – not just with others- but with yourself too.
  23. Shit happens. Let it go.
  24. Believe in the magic of new beginnings.
  25. Writing is fun, do it more often!

 

~P xo

3 comments

  1. Eliza · February 3, 2017

    Oh I love this! Stealing a few for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Nudge Wink Report – Chinese New Year 2017 Edition – Horoscopes For All | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment